Our school

Welcome

The DBSAA is a “recognised German school abroad” in the network of German schools abroad, which is supported professionally and financially by the Central Agency for Schools Abroad . The German Embassy School Addis Ababa has set itself the goal of strengthening the German profile of the school.

Young people returning to their home country or that of their parents after a longer stay, young people especially from neighbouring European countries who have an interest in the German language and culture, and young people whose mother tongue is German can, in our opinion, make an important contribution to building a bridge to the local students who have also chosen our school and at the same time they themselves can benefit from this cross-cultural encounter.

Kindergarten & Preschool

In our mixed-age groups, the children are open towards the new and are curious about the unknown. The partially open pedagogical concept creates a lot of fun and joy.

Read more

Primary school

In our two stream primary school,classes German-speaking students are taught together with students with an Ethiopian cultural background.

Read more

Secondary school

The lower secondary level comprises the grades 5 – 10 of the DBSAA. New subjects and important learning methods are introduced here with the aim of preparing your child for his or her professional or academic future.

Read more

IBDP

Upper Secondary comprises DBSAA grades 11 – 12 and offers a bilingual IB Diploma Programme in which various subjects are offered in German or English. Successful completion of the IB Diploma is equivalent to the German Abitur.

Read more

10 reasons to choose the DBSAA

1

Familiar ambience

In total, about 200 students attend the DBSAA. In the lower secondary school the class sizes are up to 25 students, in the primary school there are 15, in the IB up to 10 students. In this way we create an optimal and personal learning environment.

2

School system

The DBSAA is able to create smooth transitions between the school areas including the differentiation between Gymnasium, Realschule and Hauptschule. Supporting courses are also offered for mathematics and German, among other things.

3

Support programmes

The individual support and encouragement of each and every child is important to us, so that the school offers support programmes for gifted children and has also developed a support concept for career changers.

4

A wide range of afternoon activities

In addition to many study groups in the fields of sports, art, music, politics, natural sciences, language development, languages (Amharic, English), mathematics, robotics in which the students can pursue their interests, the school offers afternoon supervision until 5.30 pm.

5

Languages

We offer German as the language of instruction in all subjects. French as a 2nd foreign language from grade 6 and Spanish as a late-beginning foreign language from grade 11, supported by student exchanges with Germany, Spain, USA, South Africa, Ghana and Zambia. International language examinations (DELF, DELE, FCE, DSD) are regularly taken.

6

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme

We offer the IBDP with a high proportion of subjects in German language: history, biology, mathematics and guarantee a smooth transition for further schooling in Germany.

7

Competitions

We make it possible to participate in partly international competitions in the fields of sports, mathematics, biology and international events in the fields of history and politics.

8

Study and career guidance

We offer study and career guidance for Germany and provide social internships in grade 10.

9

Native speaker

First-class education in terms of quality is close to our heart. Our staff teaches according to the German curriculum with almost exclusively German native speakers and teaching staff trained in Germany.

10

The DBSAA community

A colourful school life with regular projects, festivals, celebrations and trips promotes a feeling of togetherness.

School Management

The School Managementuses the potential of all its members to address the most important school-related issues. A written schedule of responsibilities regulates the responsibilities within the team . The members of theSMperform their tasks as a team. Local teachers can be included in the SM; their potential as a link to the home country is demonstrably used. Team meetings take place regularly. Minutes document the results. The members take on responsibilities in the school’s committee work. The members of theSM work together with the Principal during evaluations, who retains overall responsibility for the evaluation process.

School system in Germany

First, children attend primary school for four years. In the fourth grade, they decide how to continue their education. The system of secondary schools is divided into Hauptschulen, Realschulen, Gymnasien and Gesamtschulen. The Hauptschule ends after the 9th grade with the Hauptschulabschluss, the Realschule after the 10th grade with the Realschulabschluss. Afterwards, the young adults can start vocational training or continue their schooling. The Gymnasium ends after the 12th or 13th grade with the Abitur, which entitles them to study at a university.

Registration and dates

We are pleased that you wish to register your child at the German Embassy School Addis Ababa. In the section Registration you will find all necessary information and forms you need to register at our school.

  Deadline
 Application Early May
 School entrance test Mid of May
 Decision of the headmaster on admission
 and notification of parents
 First week of June

Kindergarten
Citizens of the Federal Republic of Germany, Switzerland and Austria are admitted all year round. If you have any questions, please contact our school office. They will be happy to help you with any questions you may have and, if necessary, arrange an appointment for an interview with the head of school Dr. Nutz.

Application deadline: early May

The German Embassy School Addis Ababa, DBSAA for short, is located in the district of Aware, in the north-east of the Ethiopian capital. Roman Herzog, the then President of the Federal Republic of Germany, broke ground for the school at its current location on 26.01.1996. The bungalow-like buildings on the hillside serve as classrooms, surrounded by many green spaces; with a German standard sports hall, a football field, as well as a 100-metre track and long jump pit!

Idioms and phrases by theidioms.com

GDPR

Unsere Schule

Willkommen

Die DBSAA ist eine „anerkannte Deutsche Auslandsschule“ im Netzwerk der Deutschen Auslandsschulen. Sie wird fachlich und finanziell von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen im Bundesverwaltungsamt unterstützt. Die Deutsche Botschaftsschule Addis Abeba stärkt das deutsche bzw. deutschsprachige Profil.

Jugendliche, die nach einem Äthiopienaufenthalt wieder in ihre Heimat oder die ihrer Eltern zurückkehren sowie Jugendliche aus europäischen Nachbarländern, die ein Interesse an der deutschen Sprache und Kultur haben, können einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, eine Brücke zu den lokalen Schüler*innen zu schlagen, die unsere Schule gewählt haben. Von der Begegnung profitieren beide Seiten.

Kindergarten & Vorschule

In unseren altersgemischten Gruppen gehen die Kinder offen mit dem Neuen umund lassen sich mit großer Neugier auf das Unbekannte ein. Durch das teiloffene Konzept entsteht viel Spaß und Freude an dieser Art des Lernens.

Mehr Informationen

Grundschule

In unserer ein- bis zweizügigen Grundschule werden neben deutschsprachigen Schülerinnen und Schülern auch solche mit äthiopisch-kulturellem Hintergrund, die einen Bezug zu Deutschland aufweisen, unterrichtet.

Mehr Informationen

Sekundarstufe I

Die Sekundarstufe I umfasst die Klassenstufen 5 – 10 der DBSAA. Hier werden neue Fächer und wichtige Lernmethoden eingeführt mit dem Ziel, Ihr Kind auf seine berufliche oder akademische Zukunft vorzubereiten.

Mehr Informationen

IBDP

Die Sekundarstufe II umfasst die Klassenstufen 11 – 12 der DBSAA und bietet ein bilinguales IB Diplomprogramm an, in dem verschiedene Fächer in deutscher oder englischer Sprache angeboten werden. Der erfolgreiche IB-Diplom-Abschluss ist dem deutschen Abitur vollkommen gleichgestellt.

Mehr Informationen

10 Gründe für die DBSAA

1

Familiäres Ambiente

Etwa 240 Schülerinnen und Schüler besuchen die DBSAA. In der Sekundarstufe I liegen die Klassenstärken bei bis zu 25 Personen, in der Grundschule sind es 15, im IB bis zu 10 Schüler. So schaffen wir eine optimale und persönliche Lernumgebung.

2

Schulsystem

Die DBSAA schafft sanfte Übergänge zwischen den Schulbereichen und differenziert nach Gymnasium, Realschule und Hauptschule. Förderkurse unter anderem für Mathematik und Deutsch werden angeboten.

3

Förderungsprogramme

Die individuelle Förderung und Forderung jedes einzelnen Kindes ist uns wichtig. Unsere Schule bietet Begabtenförderungs-Programme und ein Förderkonzept für Quereinsteiger.

4

Breitgefächertes Nachmittagsangebot

Arbeitsgemeinschaften gibt es in den Bereichen Sport, Kunst, Musik, Naturwissenschaften, Sprache, Mathematik und Robotics. Während der Nachmittagsbetreuung bis 17.30 Uhr werden weitere Aktivitäten angeboten.

5

Sprachen

Deutsch ist Unterrichtssprache in allen Sachfächern. Französisch als 2. Fremdsprache wird ab Klasse 6 und Spanisch ab Klasse 11 unterrichtet. Regelmäßig werden internationale Sprachprüfungen (DELF, DELE, FCE, DSD) abgelegt.

6

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme

Wir bieten das IB mit hohem Anteil an Fächern in deutscher Sprache an (Geschichte, Biologie, Mathematik) und garantieren einen reibungslosen Übergang bei weiterer Beschulung in Deutschland.

7

Wettbewerbe

Wir ermöglichen die Teilnahme an z. T. internationalen Wettbewerben aus den Bereichen Sport, Mathematik, Biologie und internationalen Veranstaltungen aus den Bereichen Geschichte und Politik.

8

Studien- und Berufsberatung

Wir bieten Studien- und Berufsberatung für Deutschland an. Praktika in Klasse 9 und Sozialpraktika in Klasse 10 gehören zum Curriculum.

9

Muttersprachler

Unser Lehrkörper unterrichtet gemäß des deutschen Lehrplans (Thüringen) mit fast ausschließlich deutschen Muttersprachlern und in Deutschland ausgebildetem Lehrpersonal.

10

Die DBSAA Gemeinschaft

Mit unserem abwechslungsreichen Schulleben mit Projekten, Festen und Fahrten, fördert wir das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl.

Erweiterte Schulleitung

Die Erweiterte Schulleitung bearbeitet die wichtigsten schulrelevanten Fragen zu bearbeiten. Ein  Geschäftsverteilungsplan regelt die Zuständigkeiten. Die Mitglieder der Erweiterten Schulleitung nehmen ihre Aufgaben als Team wahr. Einheimische Lehrkräfte können in die Erweiterte Schulleitung einbezogen werden, um ihr Potenzial als Bindeglied zu Äthiopien zu nutzen. Die Mitglieder übernehmen Verantwortung in der schulischen Gremienarbeit. Die Erweiterte Schulleitung arbeitet bei Beurteilungen mit dem Schulleiter zusammen, der die Gesamtverantwortung für den Beurteilungsprozess behält.

Das Deutsche Schulsystem

Zunächst besuchen Kinder vier bis sechs Jahre lang eine Grundschule. Danach entscheidet sich, wie sie ihren Bildungsweg fortsetzen. Das System der weiterführenden Schulen ist in Hauptschulen, Realschulen, Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen gegliedert. Die Hauptschule endet nach der 9. Klasse mit dem Hauptschulabschluss, die Realschule nach der 10. Klasse mit dem Realschulabschluss. Danach können die Jugendlichen eine Berufsausbildung beginnen oder die Schulbildung fortsetzen. Das Gymnasium schließt nach der 12. oder 13. Klasse mit dem Abitur ab, das zum Studium an einer Hochschule berechtigt.

An der DBSAA folgt nach der 4. Klasse die Orientierungsstufe, nach der 5. Klasse wird nach dem dreigliedrigen Schulsystem unterrichtet. In der Oberstufe (Klassen 11 und 12) bietet die DBSAA das Gemischtsprachige IB an.

Anmeldung und Termine

Wir freuen uns, dass Sie ihr Kind an der Deutschen Botschaftsschule Addis Abeba anmelden wollen. Hier finden Sie Informationen und Formulare, die Sie zur Anmeldung im Kindergarten und an unserer Schule benötigen.

Antragsfrist Kindergarten: 31. März

Staatsbürger der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, der Schweiz und Österreich werden ganzjährig aufgenommen. Bei Fragen hilft Ihnen das Sekretariat gerne weiter und vermittelt gegebenenfalls einen Gesprächstermin mit dem Schulleiter Dr. Nutz.

Die Deutsche Botschaftsschule Addis Abeba, kurz DBSAA, liegt im Stadtteil Aware, im Nordosten der äthiopischen Hauptstadt. Roman Herzog, der damalige Bundespräsident, vollzog am 26.01.1996 den ersten Spatenstich für die Schule an ihrem jetzigen Standort. Am Hang gelegene bungalowartige Gebäude dienen als Unterrichtsräume. Das sehr grüne Schulgelände ist mit einer Sporthalle deutschen Standards, einem Fußballplatz, sowie einer 100 Meter-Bahn, Kugelstoßanlage und Weitsprunggrube ausgestattet.

Idioms and phrases by theidioms.com

GDPR